Blueberries, Coffee, and Sunshine

Standard

What an amazing day I had yesterday! I spent the afternoon exploring my town and soaking in my surroundings. My morning began with a delicious soy latte from the local coffee shop, and then shortly after that savory first sip, my journey began. Along the way, I stopped to smile and chat with many locals and get a feel for what was happening downtown. It was an incredible experience; starting with the nectar from the gods we call caffeine, and ending with a pleasant joy ride on my brand new toy. I took many pictures during my adventure, and I thought I would share them. After all, a picture is worth a thousand words πŸ™‚

Image

This is one of the stores that I visited, and where I spent a large amount of my time, McCraw’s Antiques. It had SO many interesting pieces and I took my precious time to admire it all. Some, and I emphasize some, of the items I saw are below.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

In McCraw’s, I met Houston: a jack of all trades. Currently he is working on producing hand made plaques for fraternities and sororities. How cool is that? He aspires to be a millionaire, (don’t we all!). He went on to tell me many stories of his younger years, and recalled that the day President Kennedy was shot, he happened to be nearby eating a cheeseburger in a joint called Henry’s. Interesting fellow, to say the least.

Image

Here he is, showing me one of his plaques.

Image

After leaving McCraw’s Antique Store, I walked around outside for a while, stopping in various shops as I went.

Image

And of course, taking time to smell the beautiful flowers.

Image

The weather was gorgeous, but a little humid, so I took a moment to cool down.

Image

And enjoy a quick snack πŸ˜‰

Image

Walking further along, I noticed an intricately painted piano sitting outside of a shop. Upon questioning the nearest store owner, I discovered that the keys were part of a creative town program designed to allow anyone to sit down and play, and add a melodious atmosphere to the downtown. Area high school students were given the task to paint the pianos, five total, and the final results are outstanding.

Image

Image

Then I decided to stop in the local bike shop.

Image

Where I found this…

Image

A Trek Skye. Which of course, I had to take for a spin…

Image

Down by the James River.

 

Overall, I had a fantastic day and SUCH an exhilarating adventure! I met new faces, explored new places, and stumbled into fascinating spaces. I encourage everyone to get out, tour your town, and get to know your neighborhood. It is so worth it. Remember to always love yourself, get outdoors, and love everyone πŸ™‚

 

4 thoughts on “Blueberries, Coffee, and Sunshine

  1. That looks like a great little town. I love stores like that too. It seems that no matter how often you visit you can never see everything. There’s always new discoveries hidden among the controlled clutter found in places like that.

Leave a Reply

