Change The World One Day At A Time

Standard

Wow, what an amazing blessing to be alive. I sometimes become overwhelmed with how beautiful life is and how wonderful it is to be able to breathe and live in this wonderful world we inhabit. I know that the world has it’s problems, but I believe that our purpose is to spend our lives making the place we live in the best that we can. By feeding the homeless, picking up litter, planting trees, gardening, volunteering at your local animal shelter, or recycling. All of these things are so very simple to do and yet so easy to forget in the hustle and bustle of the daily grind. I invite you to take a moment to pick a day of the week to dedicate to giving back to our earth. It will give you a sense of accomplishment quite unlike any other. Or get involved with your job. Most employers love giving back to the community and if nothing else would probably be willing to take a listen to your ideas. Maybe you could even organize the next charity fundraiser at work! Just take the time to do you research and see what’s available in your community. Investigate what organizations need the most help and how you can be a part of them. I was once involved in an “adopt a grandparent” program at a nursing home and I absolutely loved it. I got to a be a part of the lives of patients that rarely received visitors and the look of appreciation on their face when I would come by to spend time with them was indescribable. One man in particular was very special to me. He was convinced that he was going to escape one day and even had a backpack full of supplies (canteen, flashlight, food packets, rope, the whole nine yards!) for when that day came. He was very animated and told many stories of when he was at war and what he went through in his life journey. He is no longer with us but he certainly touched my life and I will never forget him. So look around and find out how you can contribute. It will be life changing, I promise! Thanks for reading. Always remember to love everyone 🙂

7 thoughts on “Change The World One Day At A Time

  1. Sarah, loved your post! I especially love the idea of “adopt a grandparent”! People in nursing homes need visitors, as they seem to be another group of the “forgotten ones”. Thanks for this important reminder I think you’ve inspired me to check into this.

  2. jsleflore

    I will definitely wanted to be apart of something like this. Hopefully this will be that motivation I needed to get me to that next level. Thanks for your refreshing post.

  3. a Boy Named Sue

    Love this post. SO much that I wrote one very similar to it. Only mine was more on the harsh side. I’m actually a tad embarassed by it after reading yours.
    p.s. beautiful new gravatar pic.

Leave a Reply

